login | contact us

2022 Community Awards

LHLH Community Awards Image

After a three-year pause, we returned on 23 March 2022 to celebrate the dedication of environmental volunteers across Northern Ireland. We used the opportunity to thank and recognise the heroes around us who have demonstrated consistent and selfless hard work, while instilling civic pride and tackling environmental issues in their local communities.

The 2022 Winners

There were eight worthy winners for this year’s awards, reflecting the scope and variety of amazing activism happening throughout Northern Ireland.

Creggan Country Park winners

Creggan Country Park – Biodiversity Champion winner. An individual/group who have turned a grey space into a thriving home for nature.

Claire Hassan winner

Claire Hassan – Hidden Gem winner. An award for a person/group in the community who quietly ‘gets on with it’ or a project that deserves some recognition.

Eco Rangers winners

Eco Rangers – BIG Transformation winner. This award recognises a significant transformation to an open/public space which showcases environmental stewardship and community engagement.

Edward Campbell winner

Edward Campbell – Adopt A Spot Award (Sponsored by DAERA) winner. An individual or group who take action on the blight of litter through the Adopt A Spot programme.

Handy Helpers winners

Handy Helpers – Connecting Communities winner. A group or individual who is pivotal in connecting people across geographical, generational or cultural boundaries for a common goal.

Killyleagh Community Association winners

Killyleagh Community Association – Spirit of Live Here Love Here (Sponsored by Keep Northern Ireland Beautiful) winner. A special award for an individual or group who encompasses the ‘Spirit of Live Here Love Here’.

Springhill Community House winners

Springhill Community House – Health & Wellbeing winner. This award recognises the wide-reaching benefits of environmental volunteering for those who take part and the community who benefit from their work.

Tidy Randalstown winners

Tidy Randalstown – Civic Pride Award winner. An individual or group who strives to improve their surroundings.

Virtual Ceremony

On the same night that we were handing out prizes in person to the 2022 champions, we were also thrilled to welcome back the one and only Joe Mahon to host a virtual screening of the Live Here Love Here Community Awards.

The UTV stalwart was joined by the likes of world-renowned inspirational speaker and author Jim Lawless, Environment Minister Edwin Poots, and Keep Northern Ireland Beautiful CEO Dr Ian Humphreys to help mark the occasion.

Watch Now

Thanks to our event partners for making the Live Here Love Here 2022 Community Awards possible!

Pollinator Project Ideas